Acting from Within

In the past few years, I’ve made good progress in acquiring assets to ensure retirement for my parents and pay for foreseen upcoming bills. On the surface it seems I am doing this for someone else and not for me – it’s as if I’m sacrificing my needs and wants to take care of someone else. I’ve been asked, “Brian, when will you do something for yourself?”

When that question is first asked, there is an underlying assumption that I don’t want to do it, or at least forcing myself to do something that normally wouldn’t happen. This simply means the question is posed from the perspective of the other person, and not my perspective. And it understandably looks that way. I am putting in my own money to fund the investment, but I am not really reaping any of the monetary benefits on the ROI. However, there is more to it than just the monetary ROI. When I first embarked on this journey a few years back, I thought this journey came from a need, but it didn’t take long to realize it was just as much a need as it is my own desire.

There’s a saying that joy is actually found in the journey and not the destination itself. Initially I never thought of this journey as being fun or exciting, but I was certain I would reap a sense of satisfaction in the process. This has especially been true, and more so recently as I am closely approaching a major milestone of my plan. But the journey quickly became fun and exciting because in the process I’ve learned more about myself. Likewise, I am slowly starting to acquire a peace of mind with my parents’ retirement. So now looking back in hindsight, I have in fact taken this journey for myself. It’s obvious now because I’ve realized I have followed my heart, and did not simply do what I thought I was supposed to do. In essence, this journey never felt like a chore. I acted on my own inner desire to walk this path.

I also know that this is only the beginning of more exciting things to come, because in the process of doing this, I’ve:

  1. Strengthen my investment skills
  2. Brought more joy and optimism to my loved ones
  3. Become more humble by starting from scratch again
  4. Gained new perspective and question myself on where to go next – this in essence means I am actively participating in life and not simply following a blueprint set forth by someone else

There’s many more, but I think you get the idea.

Leave a Reply

